The Yarn Room in Progress

Late last year I had to have my basement waterproof. By God’s grace this was an expense covered by my HOA. My only responsibility was to move everything away from the walls. Although this may seem simple enough (especially when you are saving thousands of dollars) this became a daunting task. My basement had become a dumping ground for everything I thought I needed at every thriftstore, bargain sale, yard sale, deal, etc. and it wasn’t pretty. Werks I worked and worked to no avail. Exactly 3 days before the crew would come to complete the work my 2 uncles (bless their hearts) came and helped me move all this stuff into the middle of the basement. As this happened I realized (and they were my amen section) how much unused space was in my basement. All my money woes were stacked in the middle of my basement. I was headed to hoarder rehab if I didn’t get my act together. Then I saw it, a vision of a craft cave (something like a man cave but for a crafter). It has been my motivation. Donation pick up after donation pick up, I am slowly but surely purging through the “I might need that one day” pile. I am too embarrassed to put up a picture (I will do a before and after once it is complete). However, it has made me stay away from stuff I don’t need in the thriftstore and I avoid yard sales these days. I have chastised myself repeatedly when I open a bin and it burps yarn. I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO KICK MY YARN BUYING HABIT. I have slowed down tremendously though (hey thats a step). I am thoroughly excited about getting a yarn room. I know its going to be worth all this work.

Leave a Reply

