Menu Monday – Stuffed Peppers

2 pounds ground meat (I used 1 lb ground turkey and 1 lb of sausage) [Cooked and seasoned]

1 family sized box of cajun rice (I used Zatarans)

1 pkg onion soup (I love this as a seasoning but this could easily be substituted with a broth of your choice. However, you would need to add chopped onions or onion salt/powder)

8 peppers (cut open at the top and deseeded) [freeze the trash part of your pepper for your veggie broth]

Now I browned my meat and seasoned it with salt, pepper, and soy sauce. I drained the meat (peppers will create a juice and if you don’t drain them it gets messy).

Then I added 1 package of onion soup and the amount of liquid necessary to cook the cajun rice. I added the cajun rice and cooked as directed on box. (You can add any veggies you decide to if you choose to. I added spinach)

Stuff your peppers and bake covered for 20-30 minutes.

Now for the whopping totals on cost $6 for meat ($4 for turkey $2 for sausage) onion soup $1, cajun rice $2.50, peppers $8, and spinach (optional) $1. Total $20.50 for 8 servings.

Leave a Reply

